Robert Redford Announces His Retirement

Robert Redford, whose professional acting career launched over 55 years ago with a handful of high-profile theater and television guest appearances before rocketing to film success with Inside Daisy Clover and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, has revealed his intentions to retire from acting in a new interview with his grandson, Dylan, hosted at the Walker Art Center’s website.

“I’m getting tired of acting,” Redford said within the conversation. “I’m an impatient person, so it’s hard for me to sit around and do take after take after take. At this point in my life, age 80, it’d give me more satisfaction because I’m not dependent on anybody. It’s just me, just the way it used to be, and so going back to sketching—that’s sort of where my head is right now.  So, I’m thinking of moving in that direction and not acting so much.”

The 26-film retrospective Robert Redford: Independent/Visionary spans Redford’s long career and concludes this week at the Walker Art Center.

What do you think? Please share and follow!

10 thoughts on “Robert Redford Announces His Retirement”

  1. Hmm, really sad to hear this, but to be fair, everyone has to retire at some point. I can understand that he needs rest, like every other person that has a job, so good for him. Still…I will definitely miss having such a great actor appear in films.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

